Organization

Brass for Peace – what is it?

Since 28 February 2009 “Brass for Peace” (BfP) has been a registered non-profit organization. In this organization are brass musicians from all over Germany who are interested in our work and our aims and want to support us.

We have the following aims:

1. We would like to interest brass musicians in Germany for the situation in the Holy Land, raise their awareness of the complex situation, and travel there with them.

2. We would like to establish brass music in Palestine that, starting in the Christian schools and congregations, reaches many people, gives them joy, and encourages the praise of God in a complicated world.

3. We would like to facilitate contacts among brass musicians from the Holy Land.

The Idea

The initial idea for “Brass for Peace” arose during a visit to Germany by Dr. Mitri Raheb, pastor in Bethlehem, in 2005. He envisioned brass musicians playing their instruments at the wall being erected around Bethlehem. Is it possible, like long ago in Jericho, the wall might fall down under the sounds of the horns (and trumpets)? Since there was not yet a brass ensemble in Bethlehem, pastors Dr. Mitri Raheb, Eberhard Helling, and Friedemann Schmidt-Eggert (former Chairman of EPiD) developed the idea of a brass ensemble in and for Bethlehem. In the meantime, the “Brass for Peace” organization was founded and the initial idea began to take shape. “Brass for Peace” organized brass music campaigns in the Holy Land and in Germany and started a brass music project in the Bethlehem region.

            

Pfr. Eberhard Helling, Prof. Monika Hofmann, Pfr. Dr. Mitri Raheb (v.l.)

What we want

“Brass for Peace” arose from the wish to become actively involved for peace in the Holy Land. We know how modest our efforts are in view of the huge questions and problems that surround the people there. But because we add an unusual tone, our musicians from Palestine and Germany succeeded in giving a few moments of relaxation, distraction, and joy at very different places. We have performed in schools and churches, in a home for the handicapped, at squares, for taxi drivers at the wall in Bethlehem, and for church leaders at a construction site.

We would like to reach the people in the Holy Land, establish brass music with children and youth there, present our music in concerts and workshops, and thus share the wealth of our brass music culture with others. On the other hand, brass musicians from Germany gain insights into the situation in the Holy Land on our trips that are as authentic as possible. This is ensured by visits to various institutions and discussions with representatives from various groups of society in the Holy Land.

Bank Details

Brass for Peace e.V.
Int. Bank Account Number:
IBAN: DE58 4905 0101 0000 0603 19
BIC: WELADED1MIN

Verein

Brass for Peace – was ist das?

Seit 28.02.2009 ist „Brass for Peace“ (BfP) ein eingetragener Verein. In diesem Verein sammeln sich Bläserinnen und Bläser aus dem gesamten Bundesgebiet, die Interesse an unserer Arbeit und unseren Zielen haben und uns unterstützen möchten. Wie alles begann erfahren Sie hier.

Folgende Ziele haben wir uns gesetzt:

1. Wir möchten Menschen aus der Bläserarbeit in Deutschland für die Situation im Heiligen Land interessieren, sie für die komplexe Situation sensibilisieren und mit ihnen dort hin fahren.

2. Wir möchten in Palästina eine Bläserarbeit aufbauen, die, ausgehend von den christlichen Schulen und Gemeinden, viele Menschen erreicht, Freude bereitet und zum Lob Gottes in einer komplizierten Welt ermutigt.

3. Wir möchten Kontakte zwischen BläserInnen aus dem Heiligen Land ermöglichen.

Die Idee zu Brass for Peace

Die erste Idee von „Brass for Peace“ ist während eines Deutschlandbesuchs des Bethlehemer Pfarrers Dr. Mitri Raheb 2005 entstanden. Er wünschte sich Bläser und Bläserinnen, die an der Mauer, die rund um Bethlehem errichtet wird, spielen. Ob, wie damals in Jericho, die Mauer unter dem Klang der Posaunen (und Trompeten) zusammenbrechen würde? Da es in Bethlehem noch keinen Posaunenchor gab, haben Pfr. Dr. Mitri Raheb, Pfr. Eberhard Helling und Pfr. Friedemann Schmidt-Eggert (ehemaliger Leitender Obmann des EPiD) die Idee von einem Posaunenchor in und für Bethlehem entworfen. In der Zwischenzeit hat sich der Verein „Brass for Peace“ gegründet und die Anfangsidee hat neue Formen angenommen. „Brass for Peace“ veranstaltet Bläseraktionen im Heiligen Land und in Deutschland, und hat ein Bläserprojekt in der Region Bethlehem ins Leben gerufen.

            

Pfr. Eberhard Helling, Prof. Monika Hofmann, Pfr. Dr. Mitri Raheb (v.l.)

Was wir wollen

„Brass for Peace“ ist aus dem Wunsch entstanden sich aktiv für den Frieden im Heiligen Land einzubringen. Wir wissen, wie bescheiden unsere Möglichkeiten sind angesichts der großen Fragen und Nöte, die die Menschen dort vor Ort umtreiben. Aber weil wir eine ungewohnte Klangfarbe mitbringen, konnten unsere Bläser aus Palästina und aus Deutschland schon an sehr unterschiedlichen Stellen für einige Momente Entspannung, Ablenkung, Freude bringen. Wir haben in Schulen und Kirchen, in einem Behindertenheim und auf Plätzen, an der Mauer in Bethlehem vor Taxifahrern und auf einer Baustelle vor Kirchenführern musiziert.

Wir möchten also zum einen die Menschen im Heiligen Land erreichen, dort mit Kindern und Jugendlichen eine Bläserarbeit aufbauen, in Konzerten und Workshops unsere Musik vorstellen und so den Reichtum unserer Bläserkultur mit anderen teilen. Auf der anderen Seite bekommen Bläserinnen und Bläser aus Deutschland auf unseren Reisen Einblicke in die Situation im Heiligen Land, die so authentisch wie möglich sind. Dafür sorgen die Besuche von verschiedenen Einrichtungen und die Gespräche mit Persönlichkeiten der verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Gruppen im Heiligen Land.

  Downloads


Satzung Brass for Peace e.V. (pdf, 28 kb)

Beitrittserklärung Brass for Peace e.V. (pdf, 40 kb)

Flyer Brass for Peace e.V.
» Flyer hier bestellen

Bankverbindung

Brass for Peace e.V.
Sparkasse Minden Lübbecke
BLZ: 490 501 01
Konto: 60319

Int. Bank Account Number:
IBAN: DE58 4905 0101 0000 0603 19
BIC: WELADED1MIN